First Week

Magandang gabi (good evening)!

It’s the end of my first week in the Philippines and there’s been so much take in. After an 11 hour flight from LAX to Tokyo, a 3 hour layover, another 4 hour flight to Manila (plus an hour maintenance delay sitting in a humid airplane), and an hour bus ride from Manila to Cavite, we finally arrived at our home for initial orientation (IO) after midnight.  We’re staying at the International Institute of Rural Reconstruction (better known as”11RR” because “IIRR” is difficult to say), a community development and hands-on training organization that has programs in Africa, Asia, and Latin America. It’s a really beautiful place. The featured image is my hostel and home for these first two weeks.

It’s hard to believe I’ve only been here a week. Time seems to move much slower here. We’re in training sessions from 8am-noon then 1-5pm going over policies, procedures, expectations, homestay program, and so much more. On Tuesday, I rode my first jeepney to the mall — a popular Filipino pastime. We went to the Philippines’ biggest mall chain, SM, and as someone who doesn’t really like the mall, it was overwhelming. It was huge and had everything you could ever need or want and more. I felt like I was in the States because there were so many American stores and restaurants. On Wednesday, the staff put on a cultural celebration and we were introduced to Filipino games, festivals, holidays, food, superstitions, videoke, and rituals, followed by dinner (with lechon) and cultural dances. Filipino culture is incredibly warm, happy, and giving. I’ve felt so much of this in my time here so far, especially by the Peace Corps Philippines staff. It’s a beautiful culture and I look forward to learning more.

We started language classes yesterday and have begun working mostly in our sectors and learning about the work we’ll be doing over the next two years. In the CYF sector, there are 32 of us and it’s a seriously impressive group of people, many with degrees and/or several years of experience in social work. I have so much to learn from them. Our sector manager, Ambet Yangco, has impressed me most of all. He’s so passionate about his work, believes in his country and its people, and has honest expectations of all of us as volunteers. I have a lot of respect for him and feel really lucky to have him as my sector manager. I’m really looking forward to working with him.

In other news: it’s currently rainy season in the Philippines and when it rains here, it POURS. Typhoon Falcon was in the Philippines this week so it’s been raining really hard, but fortunately it’s north of where we are and continuing that way. The rain is really incredible and it’s nothing like anything we’ve ever gotten in California. It’s really relaxing to watch and listen to, however, it does bring out all the bugs. I live in a room with a roommate along with about a hundred ants and the occasional flying insect. It’s a constant battle to keep ants off my stuff. I currently have 13 bug bites and counting so I’m a pretty sad cat 😦 Other than that, my living conditions are pretty great here: our room has a fan and air conditioning, two beds and desks, closets, and our own bathroom with a toilet, sink, and shower. We are fed 5 times a day (Filipinos love their meriendas) so my tummy is always happy. It’s actually been really comfortable and I’m grateful to Peace Corps for easing us in.

Throughout PST, we have a Monday-Saturday schedule so I’m looking forward to having tomorrow off and sleeping in. Pictures and more updates coming soon!

Ingat (take care)!

❤ Jac

5 thoughts on “First Week”

    1. Thank you, Mollie, for taking the time to read! 🙂 I’m getting a ton a bites, but I’m not sure that they’re from ant bites; probably from bugs on my walk to class. Sorry for the late reply as I’m just getting around to replying everyone. Will post again soon!

  1. My family is from Cavite not far from Dasma! It’s great to read about your experiences so far and I hope your time in the Peace Corps and in the Philippines is transformative both for you and the communities you’ll be serving!

    1. Thank you Malou! I’m bummed I didn’t get to explore Cavite more when we were there since we were in our 11RR bubble the entire time (we went to the SM there and that was it); maybe later in service I’ll have a chance to visit.

Leave a comment