“The going is great, but the leaving is never easy.”

These words were first said to me by Henri Migala (one of the great people I had the pleasure of knowing while working at UCSD International House) during my senior year of college when I thought I would be leaving UCSD; little did I know I would be back just a few months later. Fast-forward a year to right now and this saying holds so true.

I wrote this on the plane and am updating now that I’m at my 3 hour layover in Tokyo. To sum up my whatever amount of time has passed (too many time changes!):

I flew from Oakland to LA yesterday morning (July 3) for staging (basically a one-day orientation). Yesterday felt so unreal and goodbyes are seriously the worst. My whole family dropped me off at the airport and it’s never easy seeing your mom and grandma cry (especially since we don’t cry in my family). I don’t think my family really understands why I’m doing this (besides maybe my siblings) but they are being as supportive as they know how to be and that’s really all I can ask for. They feel like I’m leaving them behind and that’s been the hardest thing about going. 😦

At staging, we went over the goals of the Peace Corps, expectations, challenges, etc. over the course of 5 hours. Since we were split into two groups at staging, I’ve only met about half my cohort so far (there are 88 of us total), but I really like our group and look forward to getting to know them over the next two years.

Jared drove up and met me for dinner after staging; this was round three of see-you-laters for us and it never gets easier. (Jared, I love you to death and miss you so much already.) I got back to the hotel at 11 and knocked out, only to wake up at 5am to check out and get to the airport. I didn’t realize how many of us there were until all 88 of us (and our 2-3 pieces of luggage each) were trying to get through check-in -– no wonder they made us get there 3 hours early.

We just got off our 11 hour flight to Tokyo. It’s currently 3:12pm and our flight to Manila leaves at 6pm. It’s going to be a LONG day of traveling (pretty sure I’m getting smelly). Once there, I’ll be in Cavite for 2 weeks for initial orientation before we move again for the rest of our 3-month training. This is really happening! I still can’t believe it. I still don’t think reality has quite hit me yet, although it’s feeling a lot less scary now that I’m here. The longest I’ve been out of the country before this was 3 weeks so it’s weird to think it could be a while before I’ll be home again.

I’ve received notes and messages from several people and I want to thank everyone for your well wishes, love, and support; I am so blessed ❤ It was a heartwarming way to end my first day with the Peace Corps. I will see you all again soon!

The next time I post, I’ll be in the Philippines!

Leave a comment